Rast Hack

2 Apr

If there was ever any doubt in your mind about how much I love my dog, you may have missed this post.

But enough about Reggie for a moment…Stevie Wonder and I have been busy as bees (so the saying goes) these past few weeks.  For one, my parents came to town three weeks ago to help celebrate my birthday.  They brought with them a veritable bounty of delights and my parents and I spent the day running around town checking out some local shops and spending money on home decor items, deli salads, and old post cards written in German. We also took a weekend trip down to Madison to see some friends and Don’t Stop Bein’ Steven’s parents came into town for a weekend and we did a BUNCH of yard work.  I’ll detail some of this later on but I have a project to share with you first.

Back in April of 2011 (April!), Steve and I purchased an IKEA Rast dresser.

Source: ikea.com

I’d seen this picture on the interweb and thought, “Hey, I could do that.”

Source: aubreyandlindsay.blogspot.com

Source: aubreyandlindsay.blogspot.com

And do I did.

I first put the dresser together and wiped it down with a damp cloth.  Then, I used a washcloth to wipe wood stain on the top and sides.

The stain sat overnight and was followed by a sanding, another coat of stain, another sanding, and three coats (with sanding in between) of polyurethane.  I used Minwax Wood Finish in Jacobean and Minwax Water Based Polyacrylic in Clear Sating.  I’ll spare you the play by play but here she is after two coats of stain and three coats of poly.

While I was staining and sanding and polying, I was also applying five (five!) coats of white paint to the drawers.  I used Behr Premium Plus white base.  It took a number of coats because after the first two, I could still see a yellowish undertone coming through.  And, since I am a glutton for punishment, I decided to continue painting and painting until I got a pure white.  Five coats (with sanding, of course) later, and we had three finished drawers.

I’d scouted a few places for handles but the winner ended up being my mom.  She found an outlet in Milwaukee where she was able to pick up 6 new drawer pulls for me.  They’re a tiny bit smaller than I would have liked but they have a diamond detail in the back that I think is rather neat.  These were beastly to put on since I had to take a bunch of measurements so they would be straight and then drill a tiny pilot hole for the top and bottom screws but in the end I was happy with them.

I’m embarrassed to admit that I started this project back in December after we hosted my family for Thanksgiving.  With all the dry time in between coats it took me about a week to complete the project.  But, when I screwed in the drawer pulls, I dinged some of the paint.  I wanted to repair those nicks before I blogged about it and didn’t get around to doing so until my parents impending visit was nearly upon us.  (I am a WORLD CLASS initiator but TERRIBLE with project follow through.)  But, I got it done for their visit and now two sets of parents have used this little night stand since.

Here she is (kind of) in use.

(Check out that hot striped wall paper!)

We’re working on another little project up in that room which is not complete yet so unfortunately you can’t really see her in use as a night stand but you can get a view of my little project.  I’m quite smitten with her.

What do you think?  Anyone else have a neat IKEA hack?

 

Leave a Reply

