Do Wah Diddy, Diddy Dum, Diddy (New) Do

4 Mar

I hate putting pictures of myself on the blog.  I also hate taking pictures of myself.  If I had it my way, I would always, always, always be on the hidden side of the camera.

But, if I did that, I’d never have pictures of me and Steve or me and my mom or me and anyone because, obviously, I’d never be in a picture.

I’d also never have these lovely pictures to show you of my new hair do.  That’s right, a new do!

Some of you may not know this but I only go to a salon about once every 2 years or so.  I find it difficult to articulate what I want and absolutely abhor talking to the hair stylists…not because they’re mean or snobby or anything, but mostly because I am convinced they don’t give a darn about anything I have to say and they feel forced (much like I do) to maintain a polite conversation for my benefit.  But this weekend, I did it.  I went and endured two (mostly pleasant) hours of small talk and nerves.

Before I went, I asked Steve if he thought I should jump on the bangs band wagon.  And his exact words to me were, “be bold.”  So behold, the bold:

I don’t think it’s half bad.  I like the color, which is a lot more red than these images suggest.  And it took about a day but I got used to the bangs.  Now, if only I could grow into that nose.

 

6 Responses to “Do Wah Diddy, Diddy Dum, Diddy (New) Do”

  1. Candi Mom Enders March 4, 2012 at 8:12 PM #

    We love your new do! Dad says if you had Lulie in your hand instead of the camera you would look like you did when you were two. Vicki thinks you look like Grandma Dolores when she was younger. Love it!

  2. Tom & Vicki March 4, 2012 at 9:49 PM #

    Way to go red.
    Wait till you see Tom’s new look tomorrow night.

  3. liz March 5, 2012 at 6:20 AM #

    Oh Bada! You’re new ‘do is adorable 🙂 I love it.

  4. liz March 5, 2012 at 6:23 AM #

    P.s. at least u don’t have a nose “the size of roseanne” or a “balloon head on a stick neck.” You are beautious.

  5. Kate Rossing March 5, 2012 at 8:59 PM #

    oh stop your nose is adorable and so is your hair! I have not done anything “bold” with mine in a while and I am kind of in that same boat as you, I feel so awkward sitting there talking with the stylist. I have been debating bangs and I feel like my hair dressers always talk me out of it…what up with that!?

  6. Jane March 6, 2012 at 12:46 PM #

    Kate and Amanda, I am so with you. I actually just made a friend cut my hair, this past time, after not having gotten it cut for a year. And Kate, one time I asked for just side-swoopy-long bangs, and the stylist just completely ignored me. So… I guess it just wouldn’t be a good look on me?

    Amanda, I LOVE your hair– so cute. I love that Steve told you to be bold 🙂

Leave a Reply

