Never You Mind

10 Mar

I know what you’re thinking.

I can hear you all the way over here.

You’re thinking that I haven’t told my Lenten promise yet.

And you’d be right.

Because I only decided it YESTERDAY.  Yes, I waited until ASH WEDNESDAY to decide what I would do.

Why?  Meh.  Don’t know.

But enough of this riveting conversation, let me tell you what I have decided to do for Lent.

I’m giving up MINDLESSNESS.

(Apparently I am in a particularly capital mood right now.)

What does it mean to give up mindlessness?  Well, it’s sort of like this:  Sometimes I am making dinner and I pop a piece of pepper (or broccoli or apple or what have you) into my mouth.  Or sometimes I sit on the computer and just surf the web with no apparent goals.  Or sometimes I just set something down on the diningroom table without thinking about why I am not putting it away.  In other words, sometimes I act without intentions.  And I want to stop doing that.  It’s a waste of time.  My time.

So, for Lent this year, I am going to try to be conscious of my actions ALL the time.  I am hoping this translates into a cleaner house, more time to read, blog, connect with friends, and hopefully the loss of a pound (because I’m cutting out snacking, yo).  That last part is actually a repeat of one of the HARDEST Lenten promises I ever made.  Brutal.  Probably not the hardest thing I will ever have to do but it sure seems that way round about 4:00 pm.

I am always better at Lenten promises than new year’s resolutions so, hopefully, this will be a good 40 days!  Or, rather, a productive 40 days because Lent isn’t particularly known for good days, you know.

Ah well.

Just wanted to share.

Amanda

P.S. Did anyone else make Lenten promises this year?

One Response to “Never You Mind”

  1. Rachel Digman March 10, 2011 at 8:24 PM #

    Amanda! I love reading your blog posts when they pop up in my google reader. A very good Lenten resolution you have:) Matt and I gave up TV for Lent and we are already feeling the length of the evening hours. At least the baby fills a bit of the time before he goes to bed:) Hope you have a good Lent and a Happy Birthday (coming up)!

Leave a Reply

