Happy Birthday!

3 Mar

I turn 25 in exactly 18 days.  And apparently, that is a pretty significant birthday – proven to me by the fact that I often get facebook invited to 25th birthday parties for people I have not seen since high school.  Not that I mind that.  One day I’d like to just show up to one of those parties and see what happens.  It would be like an even more awkward high school reunion because at a reunion everybody is kind of out of the loop but at the birthday, you’d be the only one out of that loop.  But I digress.  The point is, I get a lot of these invites and since I am not having a spectacular birthday party (though I should!) I am not going to be able to facebook invite all my old high school homeboys to any sort of festivity.  Therefore, I thought that instead, I’d make them a list of things that they could send me for my birthday!

But before I do that, which I know you are all eagerly awaiting (I’m lookin’ at you Jake Smith), let me first tell you what Steve and I got each other for Christmas so as to assure that these gifts are not repeated on my most spectacular upcoming day!

My gift was a very long time coming.  You see, when Steve and I moved to Virginia we generously gave our couch (a Behnke original) to one of Steve’s cousins.  She has since put it to grand use, I am sure.  But while getting rid of the couch left us with a lot of spare room in the Relocubes we were moving with, it also left us with only a futon on which to rest our weary, um,  behinds.

And let me tell you: a futon is not the most comfortable thing to sit on.  In fact, there isn’t really any lumbar support so your back sort of curves into the cushion and you go all Quasimodo.

(Source)

So, for Christmas, Steve bought me a couch.  Ta da!

She’s lovely, isn’t she.  Unfortunately, she spends most of her days covered up by a blue sheet, but that just protects her from the inevitable poopy paw or spilled ketchup or, let’s be honest, dog hairs.  Steve and I have grown very much attached to her.

She was a custom order (just the fabric) so she wasn’t supposed to be in until January but lucky for us, the delivery guys came in mid-December and so were able to comment on our ridiculous looking Christmas tree.  Looking extra ridiculous because I can’t get wordpress to rotate the photo.  Such is life.  The point is that the tree is all scraggly and is as tall as our 9 foot ceilings.


Anyway, our couch is from Room and Board and cost a pretty penny.  Probably the most we will ever spend on a piece of furniture…except maybe a new mattress.  But I convinced Steve that it was worth it because if you divide her total cost by three (for Steve, Reggie, and I) and then divide by the next 20 years or so, we’re really only spending like 1/108th of a cent every time we sit on her.

Total logic.

Kind of like that thing that people used to do in high school that made girls the devil.  You don’t know what I mean?  Remember:

(Source)

Anywho, let’s move on.  Steve wanted something equally as useful so he went to Sears.  (Where else?)  There he bought the item that has since been my greatest joy and the bane (it took me three tries to spell that word) of my existence.  Our treadmill.

I love it because a) it is helping me get back to my pre-Virginia weight, b) it is helping Steve get back to his pre-Amanda weight, and c) it is helping Reggie get back to his pre-winter energy level.

I hate it because I hate running.  Surprise.  I ran cross country for years and have since tried to keep up a “steady” level of jogging and even once participated in a 5K for fun but the truth is, running sort of sucks.  I mean, it’s nice to feel good and accomplished and such but really, when you’re actually running, admit that whenever you aren’t jamming to “The Final Countdown” you’re wondering, even in a tiny little part of you bran, “why am I doing this to myself?  I should just sit down right now.”

But, really, the treadmill has been good to have and I usually just drown my thoughts in extra loud 80s power hour music.

Here’s the working girl (in use even):

Apparently all of the things in our house are girls.  I never knew.

So, now that you are all caught up on what we got for Christmas (and you, Carolyn, can return the treadmill you bought me) let me tell you what I want for my birthday:

1.        More acreage closer to the heart of the city.  Do you know, in order to get the 10 acres of land that Steve and I want, we have to travel almost 45 minutes outside of the city?  Quite the commute!  Let’s just say that we probably will have to come down on our property size before we actually buy a house.

2.       Leslie Knope and Ben Wyatt to get together on Parks and Rec.  Something tells me I might get this birthday wish.  But not too soon because then they are going to have to break up and get back together and be all dramatic a la Meredith and Derek or Rachel and Ross (Hi, Erin!).

3.       A large heat wave to melt the snow.  Rather, we are getting another 12 inches or so (supposedly) in the next couple of days.

4.       An ice cream scoop that functions.  Steve and I broke ours a few months back and have never gotten around to replacing it.

5.       I have been in love with this chair for years:

(Source)

and this one for weeks:

(Source)

6.       The will power to donate more of my books.  Well, only kind of.  I want more room to have new books but my old books are taking up all my available shelf space and I can’t seem to part with them.  Maybe I actually want more shelves…

7.       $5000 cash.  Or $10,000.  I’m not picky, really.

8.       The FlipUltra HD Video Camera.  CNET’s best rater under $200 model.  Yowza!  There are definitely better cameras but I’m really only looking to record Reggie playing so that I can post it on the blog and make you all jealous that my dog is so spectacular.  Steve and I have talked about buying this but never actually done it.

9.       Someone who can get all the pictures and music and documents off my old computer without charging me a ton of money.  (My old computer is kaput, FYI.  It still turns on and functions but the power cord won’t charge it any longer (or it doesn’t recognize that the power cord is in there) so I only have like 46 minutes of battery life left EVER.  Very dramatic.)

10.   Comments!

And there you have it, dear readers.  My most spectacular birthday list ever!  I can’t wait until the suburbs rezone themselves so that Steve and I can buy a huge parcel of land.  Ah!

Also, did you know that my darling baby boy turns 2 years old in 11 days!  He’s growing up so fast I can’t hardly bare it!  Here’s his list:

1.       Bones

2.       Pets

3.       Bones

4.       Trip to the dog park

5.       Bones

6.       More bones

7.       Peanut butter

8.       A nap

9.       Bones

10.   To sleep in the family bed

Steve has recently re-relegated Reggie to the floor.  Sad, I know.

Anywho, hope you enjoyed this month’s post.  (Ha!  I’m doing pretty bad on that resolution.  I’ll keep trying anyway!)

One Response to “Happy Birthday!”

  1. Tom & Vicki March 8, 2011 at 12:12 PM #

    WOW, What a birthday wish list. Look forward to seeing you all this weekend.

Leave a Reply

